Harmony - Silverawards 2009 - The Jury

The Jury

Actor Anupam Kher is recognised as one of the most sensitive artists in contemporary cinema. A recipient of the Padmashri, his stellar film career ran parallel with stints as chairman of the National School of Drama and the Indian Film Censor Board. Kher started acting school An Actor Prepares in 2005. In 2008, he established the Anupam Kher Foundation to educate poor children and provide palliative care to people with terminal ailments.

Dr Devi Shetty is a renowned cardiac surgeon and philanthropist. A recipient of the Padmashri, Dr Shetty is the founder of Narayana Hrudalaya, a multi-specialty hospital in Bengaluru, and the Rabindranath Tagore International Institute of Cardiac Sciences in Kolkata. In 2003, he also launched Yashasvini, the world's cheapest comprehensive health insurance scheme for poor farmers in collaboration with the government of Karnataka.

Padma Vibhushan Fali S Nariman is an Indian constitutional jurist and senior advocate to the Supreme Court of India. Widely recognised for his unparalleled prowess in international arbitration, Nariman was additional solicitor general of India in the 1970s and a former member of the Rajya Sabha.

Manu Parekh, a recipient of the Padmashri, is a modernist painter whose works are part of many private collections in India and abroad. His paintings are sought after for their intensity and vibrant energy. Parekh's works have travelled all over the world including Sotheby's and the Smithsonian Institution in the US.

S Sridhar is chairman and managing director of Central Bank of India and also holds charge of the National Housing Bank as its chairman and managing director. At NHB, Sridhar has played a key role in launching the reverse mortgage scheme for the elderly. He has over 32 years' experience in commercial and development banking, specialising in international finance, project and trade finance, and corporate planning.

Winner of several National Awards, actor Sharmila Tagore is lauded as much for her versatility as her performances. In 2005, Tagore was chosen as a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador. At present, she chairs the Indian Film Censor Board and continues to mesmerise audiences with her screen presence.


Vir Sanghvi is editorial director of Hindustan Times and a renowned columnist, food critic, television journalist and talk-show host. Winner of the Rajiv Gandhi Journalism Award, Sanghvi was named a Global Leader of Tomorrow at the World Economic Forum in Davos in 1993. He is also the author of two bestsellers - Rude Food and Madhavrao Scindia.

Harmony - SilverAwards 2009 - Partners